Highlands State Bank is lead by a team of highly experienced business experts that are invaluable to our success.

Our Board and Executive Officers are invested in the community and stand by our commitment to provide excellent service for the people and business in the area.

George E. Irwin,
Chairman of the Board, Highlands Bancorp, Inc.
and Highlands State Bank

View Bio

Mr. George E. Irwin serves as Chairman of the Board of Highlands Bancorp, Inc. and of Highlands State Bank. He served as President and Chief Executive Officer of those companies from their founding until his retirement from active management. Mr. Irwin previously served as President and Chief Executive Officer and Director of Greater Community Bancorp and Greater Community Bank from 1987 to September 1, 2003. During his banking career that spanned 52 years he served as a director of New Jersey Bankers Association, New Jersey Community Bankers Association and American Bankers Professional Liability Insurance Company. He received a BA degree in Economics from Rutgers University.


Steven C. Ackmann,
President and CEO, Highlands Bancorp, Inc and Highlands State Bank

View Bio

Mr. Steven C. Ackmann serves as Chief Executive Officer and President of Highlands Bancorp Inc. and Highlands State Bank since September 2014. His forty year banking career includes 14 years as President, Chief Operating officer and Director of Promistar Financial Corporation in Johnstown, Pa. Other previous duties have included service as the CEO, President and Director of Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank in Scranton, Pa. He also served as President of The Bank of Princeton in Princeton, NJ. Mr. Ackmann is active with several non-profit organizations and has served as the Chairman and as board member for various non-profit, community and business organizations.



Eileen D. Piersa, Executive Vice President and CFO
Patrick W. Smith, Executive Vice President, Senior Loan Officer
Julianne DePue, Senior Vice President
Donald E. Estes, Senior Vice President
Robert L. Heigl, Senior Vice President
Edward G. Poolas, Senior Vice President
Kathryn F. Rosa, Senior Vice President, Compliance and BSA Officer
Joanne E. Sagaas, Senior Vice President, Operations
Alexis Schoerner, Senior Vice President
Glenn Acker, Vice President
Mary Alexander, Vice President
James M. Cook, Vice President
James S. Donado, Vice President
Laurie A. Gutierrez, Vice President, Controller
Carol J. Hults, Vice President, Corporate Secretary
Donna M. Jemas, Vice President
Monica McGee, Vice President
Eduardo Lopez, Assistant Vice President
Jason Rivera, Assistant Vice President
Nicole Cottrell, Assistant Treasurer
Teri Walker, Assistant Secretary, Audit Liasion

Board of Directors

Steven C. Ackmann
John V. Bosma
E. Jane Brown
Michael Halpin
George E. Irwin
Andrew J. Mulvihill
Steven V. Oroho
Jeffrey M. Parrott
Dov Perlysky
Charles H. Shotmeyer
Martin Theobald
Douglas Verduin
Harold J. Wirths
Bruce D. Zaretsky

Stop by one of our locations and receive in-person customer support, open an account, or learn more about our products and services.